School Council

2018 - 2019 School Council Executive


Chairperson – Lea Cousins

Vice-Chair - Lisa Hlushak

Secretary – Stephanie Atkinson

Treasurers – Mary Ann Wood


Alberta School Council Resource Manual


Message from Honourable Gene Zwozdesky, Minister of Education, and from Trina Boymook, President of Alberta Home and School Councils’ Association


We are pleased to provide you with this new Alberta School Council Resource Manual, which provides information on the operation of school councils and on key topics of importance to school councils and other education stakeholders. It is a comprehensive tool that will facilitate school council effectiveness which, in turn, will support school improvement. Parents are vital to the continued strength of our education system and their involvement plays an important role in student success. Through involvement in school councils parents have an opportunity to influence the delivery and outcomes of school programs.
Alberta Education supported the Alberta Home and School Councils’ Association in the development of this manual. It is endorsed by all education stakeholder associations: the College of Alberta School Superintendents; the Alberta Teachers’ Association; the Alberta School Boards Association; the Association of School Business Officials of Alberta; and, the Alberta Regional Professional Development Consortia. We hope this manual assists you with the important work of school councils in Alberta.


School Council Resource Manual

Please provide your feedback on our new website or any questions you have about our school.
1000 characters left
Ecole Notre Dame Elementary -